bone marrow???
2007-01-15 10:42:07
·
answer #1
·
answered by Nolagirl83 5
·
1⤊
1⤋
Contrary to popular belief, it's not the hooves, and jello doesn't come only from horses.
Gelatin is the main ingredient that gives jello its distinctive properties, and can be obtained by boiling the bones and other connective tissues of most animals. This works because boiling breaks down collagen, one of the main structural protiens in most animals including people, into gelatin.
If you've ever cooked a roast, or ham and put the left overs in the fridge, you may have noticed that the juices form a gel when cooled. This is aspic, which is essentially meat jello. Collagen from the connective tissue in the meat breaks down into gelatin, seeps out of the roast to the bottom of the pan, and sets in the fridge. You can also see the same thing when you put wet cat food in the fridge.
2007-01-15 10:48:24
·
answer #2
·
answered by OMGWTFBBQ!!1 3
·
2⤊
0⤋
I have answered this question a couple of times with out really reading anything about it and my answer stands. It used to be made with hoofs and bones. It is now made with seaweed or something similar. Read this it will help. Frequently Asked Questions - Ingredients 1: Gelatine
What is gelatin/gelatine?
Is there any alternative to it?
Gelatin (US spelling) or gelatine (British spelling) (used to make Jell-o and other desserts) is made from the boiled bones, skins and tendons of animals. An alternative substance is called Agar-Agar, which is derived from seaweed. Another is made from the root of the Kuzu. Agar-Agar is sold in noodle-like strands, in powdered form, or in long blocks, and is usually white-ish in color.
Some Kosher gelatins are made with agar-agar, most are not. Some things that are vegan that are replacing gelatin are: guar gum and carrageenan. Only some 'emulsifiers' are vegan. Gelatin is used in photography. Although the technology exists to replace photographic film, its price is currently prohibitive and there is insufficient demand. Hopefully, with the growth of vegetarianism and veganism, this situation will soon change.
2007-01-15 11:05:50
·
answer #3
·
answered by carmen d 6
·
0⤊
0⤋
Horse hoofs are used in jello, as are cow hoofs and
horns. They grind them into a powder and put them in
there.
Thats why jello is very good for you if you have a hard time getting your fingernails to grow long.
2007-01-15 10:44:15
·
answer #4
·
answered by txharleygirl1 4
·
1⤊
0⤋
Horse bones are often rendered to make gelatin, a constituent of "Jello".
2007-01-15 12:06:40
·
answer #5
·
answered by Anonymous
·
0⤊
0⤋
The Hoof
2007-01-15 13:21:46
·
answer #6
·
answered by Robert B 7
·
0⤊
0⤋
It's not just horses.It's bones from other animals also.they are boiled.Bones are used to make gelatin,so anything containg gelatin is animal bones.Jello is just boiled animal bones.
2007-01-15 10:44:31
·
answer #7
·
answered by Anonymous
·
1⤊
0⤋
horse is not in jello. cow is and it's the hoof and marrow to make the gelatin
2007-01-15 10:41:59
·
answer #8
·
answered by eehco 6
·
2⤊
3⤋
iv'e always heard it was their hooves (feet) but i never belived it.also i have heard they use horses to make glue i don't believe that either.
2007-01-15 13:09:24
·
answer #9
·
answered by Missy H 3
·
0⤊
0⤋
The hoofs.
2007-01-15 10:38:36
·
answer #10
·
answered by Buckthornman 3
·
2⤊
1⤋
hooves and bones i thought it was cow though
2007-01-15 12:14:55
·
answer #11
·
answered by 100% Español 5
·
0⤊
0⤋