English Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย
All categories

I am a vegetarian and my parents say that gelatin is an animal product so I'd like to know what it is so that I can stop eating marshmallow, jello, jelly, and stuff. I would also like a list of all of the foods with gelatin.

2007-08-29 17:57:25 · 19 answers · asked by Nicole 1 in Food & Drink Vegetarian & Vegan

19 answers

You will be a veggie once you stop eating all that "marshmallow, jello, jelly, and stuff" so that'll be great.

Gelatine / Gelatin is made from tendons and bones. They boil and the sticky glutinous ( hence the word Jelly ) gelatin is extracted and put into many food products for thickening and binding.

You will not find a list with all the gelatin-containing foods - the list is too big and by the time you've printed it out it will be out of date. You have to approach vegetarianism from the other way - "what can i eat" rather than "what can't i eat". Its not a big deal and you soon get used to it - weekly shopping takes about 10 minutes longer once you get used to knowing where ingredients come from

2007-08-29 21:12:48 · answer #1 · answered by Michael H 7 · 1 0

Gelatin comes from the hooves, bones, hides, and horns of slaughtered animals. Gross, eh?
I'll list all of the things I know of that have gelatin in them: Jell-O, marshmallows, pretty much any candy that's chewy or gummy (read the labels), those fairly-new chewing gum squares that have a liquid center, a certain brand of chewy molasses cookies that I used to love, a ton of different yogurts, some sour cream (the sour cream at Taco Bell had it in there last time I checked), the Jell-O fruit smoothie cups, a lot of different Pop-Tarts, some pies, and a lot of other things.
Learn to be suspicious. Read all of the labels from the food you eat. Ask questions when you go out to eat. Also, watch out for "marine gelatin" and "kosher gelatin." They come from animals too.
Also, jelly that you'd put on a PB&J sandwich is okay. All the kinds I've ever seen contain pectin, which is a vegetarian "gelatin." Marshmallow cream/fluff, the stuff that comes in plastic jars, is usually vegetarian as well.

2007-08-31 10:31:19 · answer #2 · answered by The Logophile 3 · 1 0

gelatin comes from the collagen in animals connective tissues. You can make it by boiling tough cuts of meat, and the bones often have connective tissue left on. If you make a good stock, it should get a little gelatinous when it cools. It is definitely an animal product.

The best thing to do is check the label on something. It's commonly found in jello, trifles, aspic, marshmallows, peeps, gummy bears and other gummy candy. It can also sometimes be found in ice cream, jams, yogurt, cream cheese, and margarine, but not all of them, so you'll have to check the label. Gelatin is also used to make those gel capsules for medicine. The ones that are vegetarian usually state it on the bottle.

2007-08-29 18:24:47 · answer #3 · answered by ? 4 · 2 0

There are 2 types of gelatin most common and cheapest is animal gelatin made from connective tissues such as the ligaments and cartilages from animals. The other is plant gelatin, it's the foamy white stuff you see on plants.. some call it plant spit! It is called Locus Bean Gum! You can get it at most any Health food store! Oh I didn't know about any gelatin made from seaweed!

2007-09-06 12:05:18 · answer #4 · answered by Anonymous · 0 0

Vegans do not eat gelatin because it is derived from the hooves of certain animals, although many vegitarians eat it (whether you do is up to you, of course). You'd be suprised how many things are made of animal products or by-products. Some ingredients that are animal derived: casein, malic acid, many red dyes (some are even made from squashed beetles! Notably the red in pink grapefruit juice). Check out PETA's site for entire lists. Vegans have to learn a whole new language and ALWAYS read labels! ;)

2007-09-06 05:44:58 · answer #5 · answered by Anonymous · 0 0

What other people said about the bones, hooves, and hides of animals. As for what has gelatin, you will absolutely have to read the label.

But if you're vegetarian or vegan, you should always read the label anyway, as you never know where meat products will pop up.

2007-08-30 01:34:41 · answer #6 · answered by VeggieTart -- Let's Go Caps! 7 · 1 0

Gelatin is a protein made from collagen extracted from the connective tissues of cows, horses and pigs.

Gelatin is in gelatin desserts, jelly, trifles, aspic, marshmallows, Peeps and gummy bears (or anything with a gummy texture like fruit snacks). As a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in foods like ice cream, jams, yogurt, cream cheese, and margarine. Used a lot in fat-reduced foods to simulate the mouth feel of fat and to create volume without adding calories. Gelatin is used for the clarification of juices, such as apple juice, and of vinegar.

2007-08-29 18:18:47 · answer #7 · answered by poohbearlovesheavymetal 3 · 2 1

Gelatin is the collagen from animal bones, skin, etc. There are veggie gelatin's available. As for the list, just check the ingredients.

2007-08-30 06:42:02 · answer #8 · answered by Juddles 4 · 0 1

Gelatin in Mexico is a nutritional complement, but it was a product that deceived people sorry for my english i try to write it best the possible thing.

2007-09-06 04:41:00 · answer #9 · answered by Amargado de closet 3 · 0 0

Gelatin is made from boiled down animal bones, hooves, and hides. Alot of gummy candies have gelatin in them, just check labels to make sure.
Peta has a list of animal byproducts to watch out for, heres the link: http://animalrights.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ/Ya&sdn=animalrights&cdn=newsissues&tm=8&gps=59_4_1020_556&f=00&tt=14&bt=0&bts=0&zu=http%3A//www.caringconsumer.com/resources_ingredients_list.asp

2007-08-29 18:13:43 · answer #10 · answered by veggierawrr 2 · 5 0

fedest.com, questions and answers