English Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย
All categories

I don't mean Jewish people as in Orthodox, etc. I mean people whose religion is Jewish.

2007-02-03 17:38:26 · 12 answers · asked by yankeephreak 1 in Food & Drink Ethnic Cuisine

12 answers

honestly people can eat what ever they want. if they are jewish and they dont want to follow the torah/bible, than that's their choice. if they wish to follow the actual laws then no they would not be allowed to eat foods containing gelatin.

2007-02-04 08:51:31 · answer #1 · answered by ma5he5sp90 2 · 1 1

Gelatin is an animal product, and there is no guarantee that the animals used were "acceptable", nor that they were slaughtered and treated according the religious law. Orthodox Jews won't eat it. Past that, some may and some may not.

There are plant-based products that do the very same thing as does gelatin though. These include pectin (fruit sourced), as well as both carageenan and agar agar, both of which are made from types of seaweed.

I've haven't yet read the other answers, but no rabbi "blesses" foods in order to make them kosher. However, an animal that can be kosher is slaughtered by a trained man knows as a shoichet, whose job it is to use a long, very sharp knife to kill an animal with one knife stroke across the front of the neck of an animal that has been neither anesthetized nor stunned. That stoke severs the major blood vessels and the windpipe at the same time. A blessing is said before that, but it's for the animal that is about to be slaughtered. A hesitation mark of any type makes that animal unfit for kosher consumption. The internal organs are then inspected for any signs of illness. An animal that passes that portion of the inspection is then butchered and the meat salted on all sides and places on angled boards, with holes in the boards, to allow the blood to drain fully from the meat.


Lufti, your blatant and disgusting racism has been reported.

2007-02-04 22:31:39 · answer #2 · answered by Anonymous · 0 1

No! It must say Kosher. Buy some Vegetable Gelatin at the Health Food Store. Make your friend or friends a special dessert using this in place of common gelatin which is usually made from pork. Be sure it says Kosher.

Thanks for caring!!!

2007-02-04 07:38:02 · answer #3 · answered by Anonymous · 1 0

That depends on how kosher a person keeps their kitchen and what type of gelatin s/he wants to use.

Myself, I won't use gelatin that is meat based because it is usually made from animals that are not considered kosher and/or from parts of the animal not considered kosher.

Gelatins that are marketed to vegetarian eaters are always ingredient kosher if not certified kosher because these are made from plant/non animal products. These are the gelatins I always use.

2007-02-04 18:06:33 · answer #4 · answered by shulasmith 3 · 1 0

if the person keeps kosher then you can serve them kosher (vegetarian) gelatin.

The whole shpeel is that you cannot mix meat with dairy. vegetarian gelatin would be considered pareve (accetable to serve with either meat or dairy) you will know something is pareve if there is a K with a (i think) triangle on the label or it will simply say "Pareve" on the label somewhere. Very small print usually.

Many Jews do not keep kosher so they may not care one way or the other.

2007-02-04 01:51:07 · answer #5 · answered by MommyToo 4 · 1 1

Considering gelatin is usually made from pork, I'd say no. I suppose they could make it from beef or other animals, but I've never seen packaging labeled that way. (I know it may sound gross and most people think it's vegetarian, but it's actually an animal product flavored with fruit juices or flavorings.)

2007-02-04 01:43:11 · answer #6 · answered by M H 3 · 1 1

Uhhhh. OK first your explanation makes no sense. And to answer your question. Yeah, there's always room for Jello. Even us Jews. P.S. Gefilte Fish comes in a chicken gelatin.

2007-02-04 01:50:13 · answer #7 · answered by Killer Klingon 3 · 2 2

As long as it is Kosher Gelatin, its all good.

2007-02-04 12:20:24 · answer #8 · answered by Jennifer 5 · 1 0

if the gelatin is from animals not, unless it says kosher,but veggie gelatin or pectin(from fruit) yes.

2007-02-04 07:57:33 · answer #9 · answered by leyla 2 · 1 0

if the gelatin is not made from animal products then yes, if it is then no.

2007-02-04 15:12:26 · answer #10 · answered by redsoxavi 1 · 0 2

fedest.com, questions and answers