English Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย
All categories

2007-01-15 13:05:47 · 17 answers · asked by Ray R 2 in Food & Drink Cooking & Recipes

17 answers

If you want to smell what gelatin really smells like (its gross), get unflavored and reconstitute it (put warm water in it and let it absorb it). It smells awful!

2007-01-15 13:11:35 · answer #1 · answered by Anonymous · 1 1

What is gelatin/gelatine? Is there any alternative to it?

Gelatin (US spelling) or gelatine (British spelling) (used to make Jell-o and other desserts) is made from the boiled bones, skins and tendons of animals. An alternative substance is called Agar-Agar, which is derived from seaweed. Another is made from the root of the Kuzu. Agar-Agar is sold in noodle-like strands, in powdered form, or in long blocks, and is usually white-ish in color.

Some Kosher gelatins are made with agar-agar, most are not. Some things that are vegan that are replacing gelatin are: guar gum and carrageenan. Only some 'emulsifiers' are vegan. Gelatin is used in photography. Although the technology exists to replace photographic film, its price is currently prohibitive and there is insufficient demand. Hopefully, with the growth of vegetarianism and veganism, this situation will soon change.

2007-01-15 14:13:53 · answer #2 · answered by ms.hunnipot32 2 · 0 1

It is derived from collagen found in the bones, cartilage, connective tissue, and skin of animals, traditionally cows. Most commercially produced gelatin nowadays is produced from pig skin. If you have ever roasted a chicken or ham, you made your own gelatin. The juices in the bottom of the pan contain gelatin rendered from the collagen, and if you put the roasting pan into the refrigerator, you'll find some of the juice setting into a gel.

2007-01-15 13:18:04 · answer #3 · answered by melissamarie728 3 · 1 1

The hooves of moose, horses and any other hoofed animals. I think it's the Muslim religion where you can't eat it. Gelatin is included in Jello, Jelly, Starbursts, Skittles, in all of those Gelatin is in it.

2007-01-15 13:09:06 · answer #4 · answered by Vee 2 · 1 0

gelatin is made from boiled down bones or seaweed. if you've ever seen jelly like substance in the bottom of a pan after cooking a chicken , that is gelatin. seaweed is more often used to make agar a medium for growing bacterial cultures

2007-01-15 13:11:48 · answer #5 · answered by ogopogo 4 · 0 1

Gelatin
Created by prolonged boiling of connective tissue such as skin, cartilage, and bones obtained from the animal processing industry

2007-01-15 13:09:27 · answer #6 · answered by Steve G 7 · 1 0

Gelatin is made from the boiled bones, skins and tendons of animals.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gelatin

Structural description here
http://www.lsbu.ac.uk/water/hygel.html

2007-01-15 13:10:48 · answer #7 · answered by belmyst 5 · 0 1

Jello

2007-01-15 13:08:37 · answer #8 · answered by my # is 1-800-you-wish 3 · 0 2

Ground animal bones! Yum!

2007-01-15 13:08:38 · answer #9 · answered by BlueSea 7 · 0 0

a colorless, odorless and flavorless mixture of proteins from animal bones, connective tissues and other parts as well as from certain algae (agar agar); when dissolved in a hot liquid and then cooled it forms a jelly-like substance used as a thickener and stabilizer in molded desserts, cold soups, chaud-froid creations and the like and as a fining agent in beer and wine.

2007-01-15 22:18:29 · answer #10 · answered by Anonymous · 0 1

fedest.com, questions and answers