English Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย
All categories

I'm doing a project about food tastes and cultures so i want to know from vegetarians, vegans, fruitarians and those of different faiths that can only eat certain meats or certain parts of the animal. I would never eat a tounge or heart for example just because it links too closely to my own body!

2006-11-26 23:36:35 · 36 answers · asked by scarlettwoman20 1 in Food & Drink Vegetarian & Vegan

36 answers

Animals are NOT food, so you shouldn`t eat any part of their bodies!

Put is like this: " What part of a human do you think its ok to eat?". And answer yourself!

2006-11-26 23:44:45 · answer #1 · answered by DarkChoco 4 · 7 5

I can address some of the Kosher considerations, but not all. I do not observe these laws except for those regarding forbidden animals.
Certain animals are completely forbidden. This is not because of their place in the food chain or our perception of their cleanliness, but because they are specifically mentioned in the bible as being off limits, and because of decisions rabbis have made in the past few centuries. The health justifications came thousands of years after the rise of Judaism.

A detailed explanation can be found at the attached link.

1. Organ meat is not forbidden, although specifically blood is. Blood may not be consumed, and must be removed. Also the fat surrounding the organs may not be eaten. Brains are forbidden.
2. Certain parts of the animal, generally toward the rear, are not eaten due to the presence of the sciatic nerve. If you draw an imaginary line from the ribs forward, all of the standard cuts are considered OK.

Let me stress that this is a religious practice, period.

In order to make life easier for themselves in a non-Jewish society, some observant Jews have adopted vegetarianism. This sometimes overlaps with their personal beliefs about the consumption of animals, so that can work out very nicely.

2006-11-27 00:05:29 · answer #2 · answered by Anonymous · 2 0

A vegetarian would eat the milk (dairy) that comes from not only a cow, but even goat or any lactating mammal. A vegetarian would also eat unfertilized eggs that came from a chicken or any other fowl (quail's eggs for instance). And a vegetarian would eat honey made from the bee. These are not actually parts of the animal, but rather by-products from the animal (no killing of the animal to obtain the product/suffering is another story).
A vegan would not eat any part of an animal, and none of the animals' by-products. A vegan lives independent of animals for food or clothing.

2006-11-26 23:56:41 · answer #3 · answered by Dart 4 · 3 0

We don't eat meat here. I'd ask in the religious section of Society and Culture and the General section in food and drink. Vegetarians , vegans and fruitarians never THINK its ok to Eat any part of an animal.

2006-11-27 04:53:36 · answer #4 · answered by Andielep 6 · 2 1

I'm a vegitarian, however I have nothing against meat eaters. I believe that if you are going to slaughter an animal then you should use every last bit of it. So eat as much of it as you can. The organs, the tongue, the genitals, all of the flesh, go to town! Not to mention the hide can be quite helpful. Though I come from a native american background so that may be where the use-it-all theory comes from.

Once when I was little my grandfather fed me scrapple (i think thats what its called) which is cow brains, it was delicious! Though I morally couldnt do that anymore.

2006-11-26 23:51:38 · answer #5 · answered by jacque_sue89 3 · 5 0

You really are at the start of your research, aren't you ?

Veggies or vegans do not eat ANY meat, or products produced with thier by-products.

Fish or chicken eaters are not veggie.

Here is the definition:
Definitions

A vegetarian is someone living on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with or without the use of dairy products and eggs (preferably free-range).

A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, or slaughter by-products such as gelatine or animal fats.

No where does it mention eating meat.

Rea: There is no reason to HAVE to go back to meat. Either you have been given bad advice or mis-interpreting an unbalanced diet with a veggie one.

2006-11-27 00:18:54 · answer #6 · answered by Michael H 7 · 6 0

You have contradicted yourself, "so i want to know from vegetarians, vegans, fruitarians and those of different faiths that can only eat certain meats or certain parts of the animal"
They dont eat meat?

2006-11-26 23:50:22 · answer #7 · answered by Miki P 3 · 5 1

I am vegetarian and eat no part of an animal whatsoever. I will not eat anything that contains a meat derivative either; by this I mean gelatin etc.

2006-11-30 02:07:59 · answer #8 · answered by Anonymous · 0 0

neither... would you eat a kid? An animal is just like a kid, what is the difference anyway of the meat, the bones and the blood of a person and of an animal?

2006-11-27 06:23:59 · answer #9 · answered by Anonymous · 2 0

P... Probably can't use the word here!

But I'd eat most parts of a member of the genus homo, suborder anthropoidea, as long as it's still 'alive and Kicking'.

and I remain vegan, because no 'animal' suffered or died in the process.

Nice
;-D

2006-11-27 04:44:42 · answer #10 · answered by Vegon 3 · 2 1

What? If you think tongue links too closely to your own body, what about the muscles which is what most meat is (you have them too y'know)?
I think it's alright to eat any part of the animal (as long as it's edible), be it liver, heart or anything.

2006-11-27 02:23:00 · answer #11 · answered by AndyB 5 · 0 2

fedest.com, questions and answers