Kosher foods are those that meet certain criteria of Jewish law. Invalidating characteristics may range from the presence of a mixture of meat and milk, to the use of produce from Israel that has not been tithed properly, or even the use of cooking utensils which had previously been used for non-kosher food.
Contrary to popular misconception, rabbis or other religious officials do not "bless" food to make it kosher. There are blessings that observant Jews recite over food before eating it, but these blessings have nothing to do with making the food kosher. Food can be kosher without a rabbi or priest ever becoming involved with it: the vegetables from your garden are undoubtedly kosher (as long as they don't have any bugs, which are not kosher!).
2006-11-22 17:21:01
·
answer #1
·
answered by gypsygoddess76 2
·
5⤊
1⤋
The Hebrew word kosher means fit or proper as it relates to kosher dietary law. Kosher foods are permitted to be eaten, and can be used as ingredients in the production of additional food items.
The basic laws of Kashrus (a Hebrew word referring to kosher and its application) are of Biblical origin (Leviticus 11 and Deuteronomy 17). For thousands of years, Rabbinic scholars have interpreted these laws and applied them to contemporary situations. In addition, Rabbinic bodies enacted protective legislation to safeguard the integrity of kosher laws.
The laws of kashrus are complex and extensive. The intention of this guide is to acquaint the reader with some of the fundamentals of kashrus and provide insight into its practical application. Given the complex nature of the laws of kashrus, one should consult an Orthodox Rabbi whenever a kashrus issue arises.
Though an ancillary hygienic benefit has been attributed to the observance of kashrus, the ultimate purpose and rationale is to conform to the Divine Will, as expressed in the Torah.
Not too long ago, most food products were made in the family kitchen, or in a small factory or store in the local community. It was relatively easy to ascertain if the product was reliably kosher. If Rabbinical supervision was required, it was attended to by the rabbi of the community, who was known to all. Today, industrialization, transcontinental shipping and mass production have created a situation where most of the foods we eat are treated, processed, cooked, canned or boxed commercially in industrial settings, which can be located hundreds or thousands of miles away from home.
What adds further complication is that it is generally not possible to judge the kosher status of an item on the basis of the information provided in the ingredient declaration for a variety of reasons.
First, the product may be made from kosher ingredients, but processed on non-kosher equipment. Second, the USDA does not require the listing of certain processing aids, such as pan liners and oils that serve as release agents. Though not legally classified as ingredients, these items could nonetheless render the product non-kosher. Third, many ingredients can be kosher or non-kosher, depending on their source of origin. For example, glycerin and emulsifiers are made from either vegetable or animal oils. Finally, many ingredients are listed only in broad terms, with no breakdown of the many complex components that make up the actual item. For example, a chocolate flavor may contain 50 ingredients, but the ingredient declaration will list this entire complex of ingredients as "flavors".
Unless a person is an expert in food production, the average consumer cannot possibly make an evaluation of the kosher status, which is why it is important to purchase only those products that have the endorsement of a reliable kosher agency.
2006-11-24 08:41:35
·
answer #2
·
answered by Cister 7
·
1⤊
0⤋
to make somthing kosher (the jewish way) is very complicated.
there are the three parts
1.the animal killed must be killed in the least painful way possible and in the least amount of blood possible. it is uaually salted afterwards. this is when a rabbi usually "blesses" the meat.
2. the animal must have hooves and msut digest its food in a certain way. sea food must have sacales and fins. the only insect is locus/certain crickets. all non predetor birds are kosher
3. the animal cannot be mixed with any diary product. this is where it gets very complicated. you can only eat dairy after a certain period of time after meat. the certain time depends on wha tbranch of judism one follows. it can range from no time at all to 6 hours. dairy and meat cannot touch in any way. however all parve things can go with wither meat or dairy. fish and bird are tecnically parve, but to prevent confusion, bird is know considered meat. also if u own lets say a factory, ou can not process yr beef where you process you milk. you must have seperate containers, even when you store food. soem go even further and have spererate dishes for meat and dairy. there is a lot of detail one can go in and explore for this part of kosher, but it will most likaly not help you in your life unless you are jewish, and even so, only if you are very observant.
if you have any more questions about koshrute (as the noun is called) feel free to email me.
dictionary def of kosher - pure
2006-11-22 17:41:21
·
answer #3
·
answered by me, myself and I 3
·
1⤊
1⤋
Jews have always put great importance on food. Biblical dietary rules and Jewish celebrations elevate food from the mundane to the holy.
http://kosherfood.about.com/About_Kosher_Food.htm
2006-11-22 17:22:51
·
answer #4
·
answered by SUNSH!NE© 4
·
1⤊
0⤋
As far as I know it is part of Jewish religion you do not mix between two soles. you eat meat from one cow do not mix meat from two cows to gather. I am sure some Rabi over there will laugh about my inebriation.
2006-11-22 17:31:53
·
answer #5
·
answered by Anonymous
·
1⤊
0⤋
It is food that has been prepared in a certain way and blessed by a Rabbi, to meet Jewish standards.
2006-11-22 17:20:21
·
answer #6
·
answered by the_fatmanwalksalone 4
·
3⤊
1⤋
What constitutes kosher food?
In determining whether a recipe you want to post is kosher, bear in mind the basic concepts of kosher food: no mixing of dairy and meat; no pork or pork products; no shell fish.
This also applies to food products containing such ingredients. For example, a food coloring made from a shell fish would be considered unkosher and would taint the food in which it might be used. Similarly, using, e.g., an animal fat together with dairy ingredients renders the product unkosher and taints even the implements used in making it.
If a recipe is not in keeping with these basic requirements, consider whether substitutions can be made to adjust it for "kashruth" (e.g., substituting margarine for butter in a meat recipe). If you are unsure of how to make such substitutions, post the recipe and ask for suggestions as how to do so. Please note clearly that the recipe is not fundamentally kosher.
Meat That Is Allowed
Beef Veal Venison Mutton Lamb
Notes:
1. The animal from which the meat is taken must have been slaughtered in accordance with prescribed Jewish ritual.
2. All liver must be broiled before use in recipes, because of a prohibition against ingesting blood.
All meat must be kashered by (1) soaking and salting or by (2) sprinkling with salt and broiling. Liver may be kashered only by broiling.
Ashkenazim generally soak and salt all meat, while Sephardim omit this if the meat is to be broiled. Note that if the meat was not kashered within three days of slaughter, it should be kashered by broiling. For meat which has been frozen. [Consult your local authority on "halakha."]
3. Because the sciatic nerve and certain parts of the fat must be removed in order to eat the meat of the hindquarters (this is a laborious job and takes special training), filet mignon, rump and sirloin steaks, leg of lamb, and London broil usually are not available in kosher form in North America, though they may be in other parts of the world.
*Meat That Is Not Allowed: Any animal which does not both chew its cud and have a split hoof, such as rabbit or hare, pig, horse, dog or cat.
Fowl That Is Allowed
Chicken Turkey Quail Cornish Hens Doves/Pigeon (Squab) Goose Duck Pheasant
Note: All liver must be broiled before use in recipes, because of a prohibition against ingesting blood.
Note: In the U.S., the only fowl which are kosher-slaughtered, commercially, are chickens, turkeys, ducks and geese.
*Fowl That Is Not Allowed: In most general terms, birds of prey are not allowed.
Fish That Is Allowed: Fish must have both fins and scales that are detachable from the skin. All fish which have them are allowed.
SEPARATION OF DAIRY FROM MEAT
Meat and dairy ingredients must not be mixed together.
Milk dishes must be cooked and eaten separately from meat dishes.
Meat dishes must be cooked and eaten separately from milk dishes.
This prohibition against mixing dairy and meat also extends to the plates, cutlery, utensils and cooking vessels used in association with them, necessitating a full set of each in a kosher kitchen. In addition, many keep additional sets and equipment which are pareve (neutral).
Sephardic tradition considers glass dishes to be neutral.
IT WAS INTERESTING TO FIND OUT THIS INFORMATION. BYE.
2006-11-22 17:24:38
·
answer #7
·
answered by longo 6
·
4⤊
2⤋
Umm.. from the word Kosher sound like chill japanese dish. I am just guessing....
2006-11-22 17:20:09
·
answer #8
·
answered by kudos Qi 3
·
1⤊
3⤋
A Jewish marketing scam for the naive gentiles!
2006-11-23 10:44:30
·
answer #9
·
answered by Nikolas S 6
·
0⤊
2⤋
i think it is jewish food
2006-11-22 17:41:37
·
answer #10
·
answered by ? 5
·
0⤊
0⤋