I rather think you'll find that eggs are classed as farm produce - even if the hens live on a dairy farm ! ! !
2007-03-26 01:27:24
·
answer #1
·
answered by Dover Soles 6
·
1⤊
0⤋
No since the adjective "dairy" is meant to describe milk-based or milk-related products and processes.
It is generally located in the 'dairy section' of supermarkets out of convenience. The supermarkets figure that if you are buying other dairy products (i.e. milk, cheese, yogurt, etc) you'll also want eggs.
2007-03-26 01:12:35
·
answer #2
·
answered by Blah 2
·
1⤊
0⤋
Dairy has to do with milk production. Eggs and milk are farm products, but no, eggs aren't dairy products.
2007-03-26 01:11:48
·
answer #3
·
answered by geehaw 4
·
1⤊
0⤋
The word dairy only has to do with milk and cream and related products: sour cream, butter, cheese, yogurt, etc. You may often find eggs and dairy categorized together, but they remain as distinct as the species from which they come.
2007-03-26 01:21:24
·
answer #4
·
answered by Tom ツ 7
·
1⤊
0⤋
egg comes from a chicken therefore it is not a dairy product. never seen a cow lay an egg
2007-03-26 01:11:11
·
answer #5
·
answered by jinx 5
·
0⤊
0⤋
A good question. Generally, it is so considered as it is kept by every grocery store in the dairy department.However, that in itself, does not make it a dairy product.As it comes from chickens, one could suggest the meat department, but seeing how the general buying public see it as a dairy product, so be it.
Tradition rules here in this case.
2007-03-26 01:16:42
·
answer #6
·
answered by Ted 6
·
1⤊
1⤋
if a cow lays eggs then yes its a dairy product
2007-03-27 00:08:11
·
answer #7
·
answered by hobbiegirl@btinternet.com 3
·
0⤊
0⤋
No dairy products are produced from milk
2007-03-26 01:11:42
·
answer #8
·
answered by Anonymous
·
0⤊
0⤋
They are generally classed as dairy, although I am allergic to dairy products, what I mean by that are products that contain Lactose (products derived from cows milk).
D.
X
2007-03-26 01:11:37
·
answer #9
·
answered by Dee Dee 4
·
0⤊
1⤋
Even though they're found in the refrigerated case near the butter/cheese/milk, they're not considered dairy. They're considered protein.
I guess grocers could start putting them in the meat case next to the ribeyes, but that would be weird. :)
2007-03-26 05:33:06
·
answer #10
·
answered by brevejunkie 7
·
0⤊
0⤋