English Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย
All categories

Looking for a gluten-free diet for celiac patients

2007-03-22 14:28:53 · 5 answers · asked by skeeter 1 in Health Diet & Fitness

5 answers

Allowed:
Rice, corn, soy, potato, tapioca, beans, garfava,
sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, arrowroot,
amaranth, teff, Montina®, and nut flours.

Not Allowed in any form:
Wheat (durum, graham, kamut, semolina, spelt), rye,
barley, and triticale.

Recent research shows that pure, uncontaminated
oats used in moderation (1 cup cooked) are safe for
most persons with celiac disease. Consult your
dietitian or physician if you want to include oats in your
diet.

Frequently overlooked foods that may contain gluten:
Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars are gluten-free. Distilled products do not contain any harmful gluten
peptides. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. This leaves the
resultant liquid gluten-free. Wines are gluten-free. Beers, ales, lagers, and malt vinegar are made from gluten-containing
grains and are not distilled, therefore they are not gluten-free.
Labels
A label that declares a complete list of ingredients is safest. If you are unsure about a products ingredients, avoid it or find
a comparable product that is gluten free. Labels must be read every time you purchase food. Manufacturers can
change ingredients at any time. Some products remain GF for years while others do not. You may verify ingredients by
calling or writing a food manufacturer and specifying the ingredient and lot number of the food in question. State your
needs clearly – be patient, persistent and polite.
Quick Start Diet Guide
For Celiac Disease
Breading, Coating mixes,
Panko
Broth, Soup bases
Brown rice syrup
Candy
Croutons
Flour or cereal products
Imitation bacon
Imitation seafood
Marinades
Pastas
Processed luncheon
meats
Sauces, Gravies
Self-basting poultry
Soy sauce or soy sauce
solids
Stuffing, Dressing
Thickeners (Roux)
Communion wafers
Herbal supplements
Drugs & Over-the-Counter
Medications
Nutritional Supplements
Vitamins & Mineral
Supplements
Playdough: A potential problem if hands are put on or in the mouth while playing with playdough or are not washed after use.

Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars are gluten-free. Distilled products do not contain any harmful gluten
peptides. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. This leaves the
resultant liquid gluten-free. Wines are gluten-free. Beers, ales, lagers, and malt vinegar are made from gluten-containing
grains and are not distilled, therefore they are not gluten-free.

Labels
A label that declares a complete list of ingredients is safest. If you are unsure about a products ingredients, avoid it or find
a comparable product that is gluten free. Labels must be read every time you purchase food. Manufacturers can
change ingredients at any time. Some products remain GF for years while others do not. You may verify ingredients by
calling or writing a food manufacturer and specifying the ingredient and lot number of the food in question. State your
needs clearly – be patient, persistent and polite.
If In Doubt Go Without!
If unable to verify ingredients or the ingredient list is unavailable – DO NOT EAT IT. Regardless of the amount eaten, it is not worth triggering your immune system and the damage to the small intestine that occurs every time gluten is consumed, whether symptoms are present or not. Individuals may have sensitivity reactions to foods other than gluten.
Wheat-Free Is Not Gluten-Free.
Products labeled Wheat-Free are not necessarily gluten-free. They may still contain rye, barley-based ingredients that are
not GF.

Contamination in Food Preparation: When preparing gluten-free foods they must not come into contact with food
containing gluten. Contamination can occur if foods are prepared on common surfaces, or with utensils that are not
thoroughly cleaned after preparing gluten-containing foods. Using a common toaster for gluten-free bread and regular
bread is a major source of contamination. Flour sifters should not be shared with gluten-containing flours. Deep fried foods
cooked in oil shared with breaded products should not be consumed. Spreadable condiments in shared containers may be a source of contamination. When a person dips into a condiment a second time, with the knife (used for spreading), the condiment becomes contaminated with crumbs (e.g. mustard, mayonnaise, jam, peanut butter, and margarine).
Wheat flour can stay airborne for many hours in a bakery (or at home) and contaminate exposed preparation surfaces and
utensils or uncovered gluten-free products. Likewise, foods not produced in a gluten-free environment have the potential to
be contaminated with gluten. This may occur when machinery or equipment is inadequately cleaned after producing glutencontaining foods. Food manufacturers are required to abide by Good Manufacturing Practices outlined in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulations, to reduce the risk of contamination in manufacturing. Let common sense be your guide.
Wheat-Free Is Not Gluten-Free.
Products labeled Wheat-Free are not necessarily gluten-free. They may still contain rye, barley-based ingredients that are
not GF.
Not All Adverse Reactions Are Due To Celiac Disease: Lactose intolerance, food sensitivities or allergies to soy,corn, or other foods or even the stomach flu, are common causes of symptoms similar to Celiac Disease. Newly diagnosed celiacs may have trouble digesting certain foods, especially fatty foods, until the small intestine has had a chance to heal and start absorbing normally. If necessary, keep a diary of foods eaten. Read labels, remember what you ate, and listen to your body.
Attitude is Everything
Like anything new, it takes time to adjust to the GF diet. It is natural to mourn old food habits for a short time. Stay focused
on all the foods you can eat. Fresh fruits and vegetables are delicious and healthy. Fresh poultry, fish, meat and legumes
provide protein and are naturally GF. Most dairy foods can also still be enjoyed providing you are not lactose intolerant. GF substitutes for foods commonly made with wheat are available at health food stores and from GF food manufacturers. Try GF waffles for breakfast; a sandwich on GF bread for lunch; and rice, corn, or quinoa pasta for dinner. Your new way of eating is very satisfying!
The GF diet is a lifelong commitment and should not be started before being properly diagnosed with CD/DH. Starting the diet without complete testing is not recommended and makes diagnosis difficult. Tests to confirm CD could be inaccurate if a person were on a GF diet for a long period of time. For a valid diagnosis gluten needs to be reintroduced. Celiac disease is an inherited autoimmune disease. Screening of family members is recommended. Consult your doctor for testing. http://www.gluten.net/downloads/infopackets/QuickStartDietGuide-2005.pdf

2007-03-22 14:39:16 · answer #1 · answered by Stephanie F 7 · 2 0

Breakfast

Gluten free muesli with fresh or tinned fruit and milk

Or buckwheat porridge with dried fruit and milk.?

Gluten free toast with margarine and jam, honey or peanut butter.


Tea or coffee


Lunch

Sandwiches made with gluten free bread with cheese or beef and salad or

Corn tortillas with salad and lean chicken

Tinned or fresh fruit with yogurt ( check ingredients)

Water, fruit juice, tea or coffee



Main meal

Glass of wine, juice soft drink or water.

Chicken and vegetable stir fry with gluten free soy sauce and rice noodles,

Thickened with potato flour.

Fruit with gluten free custard or ice cream

Snacks

Gluten free rice crackers with cheese and tomato or gluten free biscuits with tea or coffee

Fresh fruit or dried fruit and nuts.

Remember

- read labels well and watch for hidden sources of gluten

- Include a wide variety of gluten free cereals

- Always check that medications and vitamins are Gluten free
check the gluten free kitchen
http://gfkitchen.server101.com/

2007-03-22 15:02:04 · answer #2 · answered by Anonymous · 0 0

GREAT selection of articles, books, videos, products & programs that will provide solutions for health problems :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BkFZy8SytgA

GLUTEN FREE :
http://www.thebettergreenlife.com/?s=gluten+free

2014-07-05 14:09:04 · answer #3 · answered by ? 4 · 0 0

I need to know what kind of foods to eat, that his healthy and Gluten free. can you give me the best food to buy that is healthy and Gluten free, and good for us. thanks. Earl Pitts

2015-03-25 03:37:00 · answer #4 · answered by earl 1 · 0 0

You might want to check out this service, they provide weekly gluten free meal plans! http://www.glutenfreemealplans.org

2014-03-11 07:54:53 · answer #5 · answered by ? 1 · 0 0

fedest.com, questions and answers