Not horse. But it is derived from beef/veal bones, cartilage, tendons and other tissue or pig skin
2007-01-09 12:29:41
·
answer #1
·
answered by AlwaysOverPack 5
·
0⤊
0⤋
OK.
"Jell-O" is the brand name.
"gelatin" is the gel stuff. does the manufacturer Jell-O company actually make Jelly. maybe that doesn't matter. is there gelatin in Jelly, regardless of who makes it.... "Yes."
gelatin is hydrolyzed Collagen. collagen is not an animal, so people claim that gelatin is not an animal by-product. but collagen is obtained by breaking down skin cartilage & bone of animals. so it's an animal indirect by-product.
of the production of gelatin, 44% comes from pig, 28% comes from cow & 27% comes from bone. i don't know about the other 1%.
so you've decided to become a vegetarian. (i'm not sure what a "variegation" is.) but Vegan means total vegetarianism, & no comsuption of animal by-products whatsoever. no gummy bears, no ice-cream, & no jelly.
by the way, there is a vegetarian-type of gelatin... (not real gelatin) they make, called Agar/ or nature gum/ or pectin. but chemically these are carbohydrates, not proteins. if U are a vegan & your only protien source was gelatin... no such luck. it's outta here. might as well eat pasta. that's carbohydrates. there are no vegatable sources to make gelatin.
good luck on the vegetarianism thing. you're gonna have to cut out a lot of things so choose carefully. don't starve yourself of proteins. your body needs /uses them.
some vegetarians make it selective like no animal consuptions except for eggs & or cheeses.
2007-01-09 13:15:48
·
answer #2
·
answered by carbazon 3
·
0⤊
0⤋
Gelatin is a protein made from animal bones but gelatin can also be made from the skins.
Gelatin desert like Jello consists of four basic ingredients:
Gelatin
Water
Sugar or artificial sweetener
Artificial flavors
Food coloring
The gelatin in Jello is what lets you transform it into all sorts of different shapes.
What exactly is gelatin? Gelatin is just a processed version of a structural protein called collagen that is found in many animals, including humans. Collagen actually makes up almost a third of all the protein in the human body.I
t is a big, fibrous molecule that makes skin, bones, and tendons both strong and somewhat elastic. As you get older, your body makes less collagen, and individual collagen fibers become crosslinked with each other. You might experience this as stiff joints (from less flexible tendons) or wrinkles (from loss of skin elasticity).
The gelatin desert you eat comes from the collagen in cow or pig bones, hooves, and connective tissues.
To make gelatin, manufacturers grind up these various parts and pre-treat them with either a strong acid or a strong base to break down cellular structures and release proteins like collagen. After pre-treatment, the resulting mixture is boiled. During this process, the large collagen protein ends up being partially broken down, and the resulting product is called gelatin. The gelatin is easily extracted because it forms a layer on the surface of the boiling mixture.
Gelatin is a common ingredient in foods because it is so versatile. It can be used as a gelling agent (as in Jell-O), as a thickener, an emulsifier, and a stabilizer. You'll find it in a variety of foods, from yogurt to chewing gum.
Here is a list of some other foods that commonly contain gelatin:
Gummy bears
Sour cream
Cream cheese
Cake icing and frosting
Marshmallows
Soups, sauces and gravies
Canned ham and chicken
Corned beef
Sausage
Fat free salad dressing
Gelatin is even used to make the coating for pills that makes them easier to swallow. It's also in Cosmetics, lozenges, and ointments.
When you buy a box of Jell-O (or another brand of gelatin) at the grocery store, you get a small packet of powdered gelatin with artificial flavorings and colors.
At room temperature, the gelatin protein is in the form of a triple helix. This is a fairly ordered structure not unlike that of DNA. With DNA, two chains of nucleotides are twisted together in a spiral pattern. In the gelatin protein, there are three separate chains of amino acids (polypeptide chains) have lined up and twisted around each other, and the helix is held together by weak bonds that form between the amino acids that end up on the inside of the coiled structure.
2007-01-09 12:39:18
·
answer #3
·
answered by jackhammer 2
·
1⤊
0⤋
Yes jello is made out of gelatin and Yes gelatin has horse hooves in it
2007-01-09 19:25:53
·
answer #4
·
answered by amberlynn0607 2
·
0⤊
1⤋
Gelatin is an animal by product.
2007-01-09 12:30:57
·
answer #5
·
answered by margarita 7
·
0⤊
1⤋
Jello is gelatin and it is made of animal by products.
2007-01-09 12:34:14
·
answer #6
·
answered by boxersgirlbunny 5
·
1⤊
0⤋
yes it does have gelatin in it--derived from horses hooves
2007-01-09 12:31:12
·
answer #7
·
answered by ju ju bee 1
·
0⤊
1⤋