English Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย
All categories

I saw a gluten free recipe, but it included vanilla extract. I thought vanilla extract wasn't gluten free!

2006-12-31 17:32:56 · 4 answers · asked by jesusfreak_200513 2 in Food & Drink Cooking & Recipes

4 answers

Gluten comes from gluten-containing cereals: wheat (including Kamut and spelt), barley, rye, oats, and triticale.

Real vanilla extract is made by soaking dried processed immature vanilla pods in some type of food-grade alcohol.

Distilled food grade alcohols (made from grain) are made from the fermentation of wheat, barley or rye. Since they are distilled, they do not contain prolamins and are allowed ( in a gluten-free diet) unless otherwise contraindicated.

Vanilla beans come from the vanilla orchid, which is a vine, not a cereal, and therefore does not have gluten.

Therefore, gluten cannot be found in real vanilla extract.

I don't know if artificial vanilla flavoring has gluten or not. You'd have to check the ingredients on the label and do your homework.

2006-12-31 18:42:45 · answer #1 · answered by Peaches 5 · 0 0

Is Vanilla Extract Gluten Free

2016-11-06 20:06:25 · answer #2 · answered by ishman 4 · 0 0

Yes, Vanilla extract is gluten free.

2006-12-31 20:46:16 · answer #3 · answered by EDDie 5 · 0 0

Vanilla extract is made from alcohol and vanilla beans...none of which has wheat or wheat gluten.

2006-12-31 17:36:39 · answer #4 · answered by Anonymous · 2 0

fedest.com, questions and answers