that covering is a casing, most casings are made of a natural product such as intestine. it's not going to hurt you, but it's not very tasty to eat. if you are having something like bratwurst or natrual casing weiners, it's ok to eat it. bologna or summer sausage or salami you can remove it easily by just scoring it with a sharp knife and peeling it off.
2006-10-16 17:07:19
·
answer #1
·
answered by elfin420 4
·
0⤊
0⤋
Sometimes its an edible casing made from intestines or soy products. Sometimes the casing is inedible and made of paper or plastic. Read the package it came in.
2006-10-17 03:43:38
·
answer #2
·
answered by Carole 5
·
0⤊
0⤋
lol, I don't know what the heck they use in stores today, probably baloon rubber, lol. All I know is that my friend makes his own and he uses pig intestine...yeah. Okay! Let's all go eat some sausages!
2006-10-16 17:07:49
·
answer #3
·
answered by ♫ Saaskie ♫ 1
·
0⤊
0⤋
Lecithine!
Lecithin is mostly a mixture of glycolipids, triglycerides, and phospholipids (e.g. phosphatidylcholine, phosphatidylethanolamine, and phosphatidylinositol). However, in biochemistry, lecithin is usually used as a synonym for pure phosphatidylcholine, a phospholipid which is the major component of a phosphatide fraction which may be isolated from either egg yolk (in Greek lekithos - λεκιθος) or soy beans from which it is mechanically or chemically extracted using hexane.
Lecithin is commercially available in high purity as a food supplement and for medical uses.
As a food additive
Lecithin is regarded as a well tolerated and non-toxic surfactant. It is approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for human consumption with the status "Generally Recognised As Safe". Lecithin is an integral part of cell membranes, and can be totally metabolized, so it is virtually non-toxic to humans. Other emulsifiers can only be excreted via the kidneys.
Lecithin is used commercially for anything requiring a natural emulsifier and/or lubricant, from pharmaceuticals to protective coverings. For example, lecithin is the emulsifier that keeps chocolate and cocoa butter in a candy bar from separating.
Various studies (Brook et al. 1986, Spilburg et al. 2003) indicate that soy-derived lecithin may positively affect cholesterol and triglyceride levels in the blood.
Commercial lecithin, as used by food manufacturers, is a mixture of phospholipids in oil. The lecithin is obtained by degumming the extracted oil of oil seeds. The lecithin is a mixture of various phospholipids, and the compositions depends on the origin of the lecithin. A major source of lecithin is soybean oil. Due to the EU-requirement to declare the addition of allergens in foods a gradual shift to other sources of lecithin, e.g., sunflower oil, is taking place.
The main phospholipids in lecithin from soya and sunflower are phosphatidyl choline, phosphatidyl inositol, phosphatidyl ethanolamine and phosphatidic acid. They are often abbreviated to PC, PI, PE and PA respectively. To modify the performance of lecithins, i.e., to make it suitable for the product to which it is added, it may be hydrolysed enzymatically. In hydrolysed lecithins, a portion of the phospholipids have one fatty acid removed by phospholipase. Such phospholipids are called lyso-phospholipids. The most commonly used phospholipase is phospholipase A2, which removes the fatty acid at the sn-2 position.
In margarines, especially those containing high levels of fat (>75%), lecithin is added as 'anti-spattering' agent: it helps in suppressing spattering during shallow frying. Lecithin is admitted by the EU as a food additive and is designated by E number E322.
Lecithins may also be modified by a process called fractionation. During the fractionation process lecithin is mixed with an alcohol (usually ethanol). Some phospholipids have a good solubility in ethanol (e.g. phosphatidylcholine), whilst most other phospholipids do not dissolve well in ethanol. The ethanol is separated from the lecithin sludge, after which the ethanol is removed by evaporation, to obtain a phosphatidylcholine enriched lecithin fraction.
2006-10-16 17:07:33
·
answer #4
·
answered by Anonymous
·
0⤊
1⤋
Yea it's some type of lining used nowadays instead of casing. You can eat it.
2006-10-16 17:10:07
·
answer #5
·
answered by Ron D 4
·
0⤊
0⤋
if u dont like those intestines, you can use plastic wrapper or aluminum foil. wrap the filling with the wrapper then boil it then saute on oil.
2006-10-16 17:28:49
·
answer #6
·
answered by Redentor 1
·
0⤊
0⤋
no most sausage are encased in intestine casings.
2006-10-16 17:03:52
·
answer #7
·
answered by Daryl C 3
·
0⤊
0⤋
i've tried those at the holiday inn hotel for breakfast!
2006-10-16 17:17:50
·
answer #8
·
answered by YαYα Cαяяiℓℓo 3
·
0⤊
0⤋
ftraid so its an edible form of latex, should'nt harm ya,
2006-10-16 17:04:35
·
answer #9
·
answered by john_welsh1100 1
·
0⤊
0⤋
I HAVE NEVER HAD IT....
2006-10-16 17:06:03
·
answer #10
·
answered by TANNER GIRL 5
·
0⤊
0⤋