English Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย
All categories

Unfortunately, it was a long day and I think I used pork broth when I made them. Should I fully disclose the possiblity or just keep my mouth shut.

2006-09-20 11:16:03 · 19 answers · asked by KenlKoff 6 in Society & Culture Etiquette

I gave them out over two weeks ago, and the the vegetarians said that she already ate them and they were good. No ill effects.

2006-09-20 13:12:54 · update #1

19 answers

If your employees already have eaten them, it's too late to do anything about it. It's best to keep your mouth shut.

If they haven't eaten them yet, it's best to tell everyone that the bean tamales include pork broth.

2006-09-20 11:20:55 · answer #1 · answered by johntadams3 5 · 1 0

You should definitely tell them. Being a vegetarian is something that many who do it take very seriously. Meat eaters cannot possibly know how important it is because many write it off as stupid. If you were allergic to fish, had a little piece not knowing it was in what you ate and later had an allergic reaction, you'd want and need to know. Vegetarians who consume very little animal products at all can actually get very sick if they consume it. Trust me, I know. As one myself, I would want to know. You made a mistake. It happens. But the right thing to do would just be to say, "Hey I made a big mistake. I hadn't realized it when I was making the tamale, but I used pork broth to make it. I'm sincerely sorry about it and I hope you'll accept my apology."

Most people would appreciate the effort you took and will be somewhat understanding. Personally, if I found out by someone else that there was a dead animal's juice in my food and inadvertantly ate it, I'd get really pissed, because being veg is very important to me. If the person who accidentally put it in there came up and told me, I'd be a whole lot better about it.

And FYI: Your body DOES stop producing enzymes if you stop eating animal products. I was a vegan for quite awhile. About a year after I started, my mom made me a dish that she thought was vegan, but it had cheese in it. I got violently ill from the enzymes reintroduced to my system that my body had "forgotten" how to break down.

And as the girl before me said, some religions do not allow consumption of meat. They may have to go through a special cleansing, ceremony type thing after eating meat. And they most definitely have the right to know.

2006-09-20 13:20:44 · answer #2 · answered by Stina 2 · 0 0

You sound like a really nice lady. Why are you trying to kill the poor vegetarians? J/K. A little pork broth is good for ya. BTW, you just made me really hungry for tamales.

2006-09-20 11:18:55 · answer #3 · answered by LAS 2 · 1 0

Yes! I am a vegetarian and I get quite sick when I eat meat products - even just broth and flavorings.

Besides, many religions are vegetarian and specifically do NOT eat pork products. Be respectful of this and tell them.

2006-09-20 11:50:56 · answer #4 · answered by Anonymous · 0 0

Full disclosure is best. Depending on the length of time someone has had a vegeterian lifestyle, their body may have quit producing the enzymes needed to process meats, and they can be quite sick. I'm hoping you wouldn't wish that on them. Besides, a long-time vegeterian would probably be able to backtrack pretty quickly and figure out it came from the tamales.

I'm sure that even if they choose not to eat the tamales, they'll be grateful for your gesture and understanding of your mistake. But that's a decision they should make.

2006-09-20 11:21:22 · answer #5 · answered by JenV 6 · 0 1

Tell them. It has troubled you enough to ask this question. Something tells me it will bother you more later if you aren't honest about it. Your conscience is already troubling you. d:c) Perhaps you can take something other than tamales. Is it necessary that you make allowances for every subgroup?

Whatever you do I would be honest, even if it is only about your uncertainty.

Addendum: 9/21 -- I did not understand that the event was already over. If there were no bad reactions, then ethically you might properly decide to be silent for everyone's emotional benefit. It's your call. Whatever you do, do it with love.

2006-09-20 11:34:40 · answer #6 · answered by Nick â?  5 · 1 1

1. I think you have to in all fairness.

2. People have deathly allergies to different foods, spices, etc. I have a friend who has to take medication an hour prior to eating meat, or goes into a deadly reaction.

3. Just because something doesn't affect you, never assume it won't another.

4. And the vegetarians should have the right to decline, rather than be tricked. Not very nice.

Good luck.

2006-09-20 11:31:27 · answer #7 · answered by mitch 6 · 0 1

it depends on if they are vegetarians by choice or if they have religious reasons. Since it's pork broth I would probably consider telling them, because both Muslim and Judaism ban pork consumption.

2006-09-20 11:18:48 · answer #8 · answered by leckscheid 3 · 1 0

Yikes, that can be a serious no-no for some people. If you already served it, I'd keep my mouth shut & hope no one can tell the difference. But if you haven't served them I would give everyone a heads up.

2006-09-20 11:18:45 · answer #9 · answered by BettyBoop 3 · 1 0

Yes , if the vegetarian is a good friend . If not , I dont think they will go into convulsions over broth

2006-09-20 11:19:20 · answer #10 · answered by noname 2 · 1 1

fedest.com, questions and answers