to me you buy it from the shop and it omes in sheets!
2006-09-04 05:47:40
·
answer #1
·
answered by miss_power86 2
·
0⤊
0⤋
Physical properties
Gelatin is a protein product produced by partial hydrolysis of collagen extracted from skin, bones, cartilage, ligaments, etc. The natural molecular bonds between individual collagen strands are broken down into a form that rearranges more easily. Gelatin melts when heated and solidifies when cooled again. Together with water it forms a semi-solid colloidal gel.
[edit]
Production
On a commercial scale, gelatin is made from by-products of the meat and leather industry, mainly pork skins, pork and cattle bones, or split cattle hides. Contrary to popular belief, horns and hooves are not commonly used. The raw materials are prepared by different curing, acid, and alkali processes which are employed to extract the dried collagen hydrolysate and which may take several weeks. The worldwide production amounts to 250,000 tons per year (roughly 500 million lbs).
As for home cooking, boiling certain cartilagenous cuts of meat, or bones, will result in gelatin being dissolved into the water. Depending on the concentration, the resulting broth, when cooled, will naturally form a jelly. This process may for instance be used for the pot-au-feu dish.
2006-09-04 12:43:23
·
answer #2
·
answered by Istiaque Choudhury, BEng (Hons) 4
·
2⤊
0⤋
Gelatin is an odorless, tasteless and colorless thickening agent, which when dissolved in hot water and cooled, forms a jelly. Gelatin is pure protein derived from beef and veal bones, cartilage, tendons and other tissue. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs. Gelatin is used in shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics; as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings (such as Jell-O); in candies, marshmallows, cakes, ice cream, and yogurts; on photographic film; in vitamins as a coating and as capsules.
Still want Jello? he he
2006-09-08 09:59:53
·
answer #3
·
answered by VelvetRose 7
·
0⤊
0⤋
Dem Bones Dem Bones Dem Dry Bones
2006-09-04 12:44:50
·
answer #4
·
answered by bty937915 4
·
1⤊
0⤋
Two sources: One is from cows' feet and the other is seaweed. You won't get it any simpler than that - except that the 'gelatine' from the seaweed is usually called Agar-Agar.
2006-09-04 12:48:35
·
answer #5
·
answered by Anonymous
·
0⤊
0⤋
the gelatin farm
2006-09-04 12:57:16
·
answer #6
·
answered by Anonymous
·
0⤊
0⤋
Gelatine comes from animals such as pigs or cows.....my cousin said it comes from their brains.....but that might be because she was trying to put me off strawberry gateau.....i'm vegetarian...
2006-09-04 12:46:50
·
answer #7
·
answered by Technopathic☠ 2
·
0⤊
0⤋
The Food Network had a segment on this subject. It is made from pork uh, "parts" and it is processed so much that it can be used in kosher foods. Check their web site.
2006-09-04 12:46:05
·
answer #8
·
answered by inquisitive 1
·
0⤊
0⤋
Animal bones
2006-09-04 12:43:37
·
answer #9
·
answered by scrappykins 7
·
2⤊
0⤋
It comes from tesco's 49p a packet or it comes from the marrow and bones from dead cattle and horses.So people who think they are vegetarians and eat certain sweets arn't really vegetarien
2006-09-04 12:46:26
·
answer #10
·
answered by Zac B 2
·
0⤊
0⤋
Fatty animals
2006-09-04 12:44:27
·
answer #11
·
answered by Anonymous
·
0⤊
0⤋