English Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 繁體中文 Bahasa Indonesia Tiếng Việt ภาษาไทย
All categories

2006-07-17 04:43:52 · 3 answers · asked by type2kimberly 2 in Food & Drink Other - Food & Drink

3 answers

"Kosher" refers to foods that are consistent with Mosaic dietary laws. Many foods are forbidden to Jews, such as pork, shellfish, meat and milk products together, etc. Certain foods are eaten during particular holy day commemorations (bitter herbs and unleavened bread at Passover, for instance). Check out Wikipedia for more details.

2006-07-17 04:51:40 · answer #1 · answered by aboukir200 5 · 1 0

Kosher foods are those that meet certain criteria of Jewish law. Invalidating characteristics may range from the presence of a mixture of meat and milk, to the use of produce from Israel that has not been tithed properly, or even the use of cooking utensils which had previously been used for non-kosher food. For an in-depth discussion of this tradition, see kashrut.

2006-07-17 11:50:41 · answer #2 · answered by Ges 4 · 0 0

Foods that are Kosher

You can find Kosher foods in most stores in the international section. With few exception almost any food can be Kosher, it is a religion based certification of purity.

2006-07-17 11:49:37 · answer #3 · answered by Anonymous · 0 0

fedest.com, questions and answers